Sign of a coming trend? Square Enix porting Tomb Raider to next-gen consoles

Brace yourself… the next-gen ports are coming. Square Enix is kicking off the madness with a PS4/XBONE port of their critically acclaimed Tomb Raider reboot. The game sold over 4 million copies across PS3, Xbox 360, and PC platforms, yet Square Enix has been notoriously displeased with the game’s sales totals. Their solution? Give next-gen console owners one more opportunity to buy it.

tr

Tomb Raider already looks great. Why does it need to look better, Square?

Details are scarce, but Amazon Italy listed a “Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition” that was recently taken down from the site. Just how definitive this upcoming is remains to be seen. If it’s all right with you, I’ll go ahead and forecast upgraded visuals, new bonus content, and possibly some free DLC. You okay with that? No? You want improved multiplayer? Don’t we all…

Much as I loved Tomb Raider, I don’t want to see barrel-loads of PS3 and Xbox 360 ports next year. I’ve beyond had it with HD remakes of games I played ten years ago. Now we’re talking next-gen makeovers of nine-month-old games? Please, somebody cut my thumbs off.

4 thoughts on “Sign of a coming trend? Square Enix porting Tomb Raider to next-gen consoles

  1. I don’t mind the odd HD reboot, as long as its worthwhile. Having said that, I’ve never actually bought a HD remake. But the Fable remake has me interested.
    But porting games just for the sake of it…. I really hope this doesn’t become a trend. I want to see some exciting new games on next gen. Not this.
    Tomb Raider was a good game, I enjoyed it. But the story was very linear and playing it again, I wouldn’t get anything else out of it.

Leave a Reply

